GrantExec, a Euna Solutions® company

Farm to Kids Program - Local Tots Cost-Share Program

This program provides financial support to licensed family child care providers in Minnesota to purchase and serve locally grown foods as part of federally funded meals and snacks for children.

$1,000
Active
MN
Recurring
Grant Description

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture administers the Agricultural Growth, Research, and Innovation Farm to Kids Program, which includes the Local Tots Cost-Share program. The broader AGRI program was established to advance Minnesota's agricultural and renewable energy industries and has supported increased productivity, improved efficiency, and development of agricultural products. The Local Tots Cost-Share program specifically supports licensed family child care providers that want to purchase and serve more foods grown or raised in Minnesota as part of federally funded Child and Adult Care Food Program meals and snacks. Approximately $250,000 is expected to be allocated to the Local Tots Cost-Share program. Awards are anticipated to be approximately $1,000 per provider, although the final award amount will depend on the total number of family child care providers submitting a Letter of Intent. The Letter of Intent states a maximum request of $1,000. Eligible purchases may be made from January 1, 2027, through December 31, 2027. New Local Tots participants have no match requirement and may receive reimbursement for 100 percent of eligible purchases. Family day care homes that previously participated in Local Tots must provide a 1:1 cash match, with MDA reimbursing 50 percent of eligible submitted food expenses. Donated and in-kind contributions cannot satisfy the match. Eligible applicants are Minnesota family child care providers participating in CACFP. For this program, a family child care provider is an organized child care program for children, generally age 12 or younger, operated in a private residential home and licensed to provide care in Minnesota. Applicants must be active CACFP operators when submitting the Letter of Intent and remain active throughout the cost-share period. Early childhood education centers are not eligible. Reimbursable purchases are foods grown or raised in Minnesota and used for CACFP meals or snacks. Eligible foods may be purchased directly from Minnesota farms, through CSA shares, at Minnesota farmers' markets, or in retail settings when required farm-origin documentation is available. Eligible products include qualifying whole, minimally processed, and processed foods. Fluid milk, donated products, products grown or produced outside Minnesota, foods for programs outside CACFP, garden equipment, food preparation equipment or supplies, and staff time are among the ineligible expenses. Applicants must register as an individual payee or supplier in Minnesota's SWIFT financial system, or verify that an existing SWIFT account is accurate, and then submit the online Letter of Intent through Foundant. Applicants must select FY 2027 Local Tots Cost Share and provide information including business and provider information, CACFP Sponsor ID and organization name, CACFP Site ID and site name, DHS license number, SWIFT vendor information, number of children in care, primary contact information, requested cost-share amount, and a cost-share description of no more than 500 characters and three sentences. Applicants also identify anticipated eligible foods and purchasing venues, answer eligibility questions, disclose applicable relationships involving State of Minnesota employees, and complete required attestations. Materials not requested in the Cost-Share Summary will not be considered. MDA staff and leadership will review Letters of Intent for eligibility, completeness, and appropriateness and may consider additional factors such as compliance with state rules and regulations. The Commissioner of Agriculture is responsible for award decisions. Applicants must provide true, correct, and reliable information, and incomplete Letters of Intent will not be considered. Applications started but not submitted through the online system will not be evaluated, and late Letters of Intent will not be accepted. MDA may address actual, potential, or perceived conflicts of interest through mitigation requirements, disqualification, or termination as applicable. Successful and unsuccessful respondents will be notified in writing. Letters of Intent are due by 4 p.m. Central Time on October 15, 2026. Written program or Letter of Intent questions must be submitted by 4 p.m. Central Time on October 8, 2026, to f2sgrants.mda@state.mn.us with Local Tots Cost Share in the subject line. Providers are expected to be notified of eligibility and award amounts in December 2026. Eligible food purchases may be incurred from January 1 through December 31, 2027, and final reimbursement requests must be submitted by February 28, 2028. Reimbursement documentation includes the MDA reimbursement worksheet, proof of purchase, proof of payment, and origin farm name and location for each eligible item. Cash purchases cannot be reimbursed, and total reimbursements cannot exceed the amount in the participant's award letter. Program-related records must be retained for at least six years. The source does not state that this funding opportunity recurs annually or on another established schedule.

Funding Details

Award Range

Not specified - $1,000

Total Program Funding

$250,000

Number of Awards

Not specified

Matching Requirement

Yes - 1:1

Additional Details

Approximately $250,000 is expected for the program. Awards are anticipated to be approximately $1,000 per provider, with a maximum request of $1,000; final award amounts depend on the number of providers submitting Letters of Intent. Eligible expenses may be incurred January 1, 2027 through December 31, 2027. New participants may receive 100% reimbursement; returning participants receive reimbursement for 50% of eligible expenses and must provide a 1:1 cash match.

Eligibility

Eligible Applicants

Individuals
Small businesses

Additional Requirements

Eligible applicants are Minnesota family child care providers that participate in CACFP. A family child care provider is an organized child care program for children, generally 12 years of age or younger, operated in a private residential home and licensed to provide care in Minnesota. Providers must be active CACFP operators when submitting the Letter of Intent and remain active throughout the cost-share period. Early childhood education centers are not eligible. Applicants must satisfy the required eligibility confirmations and attestations, including applicable suspension/debarment, Secretary of State standing, authority, accuracy, documentation, privacy, record-retention, and conflict-related requirements.

Geographic Eligibility

All

Expert Tips

Submit at least 24 hours before the deadline; ensure the Letter of Intent is actually submitted because started but unsubmitted applications will not be evaluated; provide only requested materials; verify CACFP and SWIFT information; ensure submitted information is true, correct, and reliable; complete all required eligibility confirmations and attestations.

Key Dates

Application Opens

Not specified

Application Closes

October 15, 2026

Contact Information

Grantor

Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)

Subscribe to view contact details

Newsletter Required
Categories
Agriculture
Food and Nutrition
Youth

Subscribe to access grant documents