Tribal College Initiative Grants
This program provides funding to Tribal Colleges for capital improvements and equipment purchases to enhance their educational facilities and community resources.
The Tribal College Initiative Grants program is administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture through Rural Development. The program provides funding to 1994 Land Grant Institutions, identified as Tribal Colleges, for capital improvements to educational facilities and for the purchase of equipment. Eligible applicants are Tribal Colleges listed in Section 7402 of the Agricultural Act of 2014. The program is authorized by 7 U.S.C. 1926(a)(25) and is governed by 7 CFR 3570 Subpart B. USDA Rural Development states that the application window is open and invites eligible 1994 Land Grant Institutions to submit applications for processing each year. Grant funds are intended to strengthen the facilities, infrastructure, equipment, and essential community facilities available to eligible Tribal Colleges. Funds may be used for infrastructure improvements, equipment purchases, and the development of essential community facilities. Examples of eligible community facilities projects identified by USDA Rural Development include schools, education equipment, libraries, dormitories, renovations and improvements, vehicles and major equipment, and education and cultural projects. These uses allow participating Tribal Colleges to address a range of capital and facility needs connected to their educational missions and communities. The program provides grants of up to $250,000 per land grant institution. Grant funds may pay up to 95 percent of the total project cost, and a 5 percent match is required. USDA Rural Development also encourages partnerships with other federal, state, local, private, and nonprofit entities. The source does not provide a total amount of funding available across the program, a stated number of awards, or a minimum grant amount. The principal funding limitation provided is the maximum grant of $250,000 per eligible land grant institution and the requirement that the applicant provide the remaining 5 percent of project costs. Applications are accepted through local Rural Development offices year round. USDA Rural Development advises prospective applicants to begin by contacting a program official in their state to review the requirements for completing an application. Program resources, including forms, guidance, and certifications, are available online. The source emphasizes that preparation can take anywhere from a few weeks to several months depending on the complexity of the application and the completeness of the materials provided. Applicants therefore should engage their state program official early enough to understand applicable requirements and assemble complete materials before submission. The source does not identify a letter of intent, concept paper, pre-proposal, notice of intent, or other pre-application gating requirement. It also does not provide specific evaluation criteria, scoring factors, named application questions, a fixed application opening date, a fixed closing deadline, an award notification date, or a stated performance period. Instead, the program operates on a year-round application basis through local offices. Although USDA states that it invites 1994 Land Grant Institutions to submit applications for processing each year, the explicit statement that applications are accepted year round supports treatment of the opportunity as continuously open rather than as a deadline-based recurring competition. Applicants with questions are directed to contact their local Rural Development office. No individual program contact, direct email address, or direct telephone number is provided in the supplied source. USDA Rural Development specifically recommends contacting a program official in the applicant's state before beginning the application process. Applicants should also consult the governing program instructions and regulations because USDA notes that citations and other program information may change. The combination of early contact with the state program official, careful review of program resources, and complete preparation of required materials is central to the submission process described by the agency.
Award Range
Not specified - $250,000
Total Program Funding
Not specified
Number of Awards
Not specified
Matching Requirement
Yes - 0.05
Additional Details
Grants up to $250,000 per land grant institution; funds can pay up to 95% of project cost; eligible uses include infrastructure improvements, equipment purchases, and development of essential community facilities.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligible applicants are Tribal Colleges listed in Section 7402 of the Agricultural Act of 2014. The program is specifically for 1994 Land Grant Institutions and supports capital improvements to educational facilities, equipment purchases, infrastructure improvements, and essential community facilities. The source does not state broader eligibility for other organization types.
Geographic Eligibility
All
Begin by contacting a state program official before preparing the application; allow from a few weeks to several months for preparation depending on application complexity and completeness; partnerships with federal, state, local, private, and nonprofit entities are encouraged.
Application Opens
Not specified
Application Closes
Not specified
Grantor
U.S. Department of Agriculture (Rural Development)
Subscribe to view contact details
Subscribe to access grant documents

