Facade Rehabilitation Grant
The City of Elizabethton in Tennessee is offering a Façade Improvement Grant Program, ranging from $1,000 to $10,000, to local businesses for downtown building improvements, aiming to boost commercial sales, enhance marketability, and attract new businesses and shoppers to the area.
The City of Elizabethton created the Facade Rehabilitation Grant program to support continued investment in downtown Elizabethton and help fund exterior improvements to properties in the Main Street District. The program began in fall 2020 and enters its seventh cycle with the 2026-27 grant round. It builds on private and public investment in a downtown district where building vacancy has declined from 16 percent to 9 percent over the past five years and rental values have increased by 21 percent. The district contains a dense collection of locally owned businesses, supports approximately 800 jobs, and serves as a gathering place for free community events and concerts. The program provides financial assistance for exterior renovations to eligible downtown properties. Previous program funding has helped pay for improvements including new roofs, windows, and storefronts, among other exterior renovations. Approved projects may receive reimbursement for up to 50 percent of the total project cost, subject to a maximum reimbursement of $7,500. Property or business owners must initially pay project costs themselves and are reimbursed after costs are incurred under the approved project. Applicants therefore remain responsible for at least the portion of project costs not covered by the grant reimbursement. Eligible properties must be located within the Main Street District and must have a ground-floor service or retail business that is accessible from the street and open to the public. Downtown business and property owners may apply each year and can use the program to plan improvements over time. The city prioritizes projects focused on code compliance, safety, and preservation of downtown history and character. Priority is also given to applications submitted by property or business owners who have not previously received funding through the Facade Rehabilitation Grant program. Applications for the 2026-27 grant cycle open September 1, 2026. An informational session is scheduled for September 1 at 5:30 p.m. at Elizabethton City Hall, 136 S. Sycamore St., Elizabethton, Tennessee. The session will review program guidelines and the application process. To be considered for funding, an application must be complete, comply with all program guidelines, and contain the required documentation. The supplied information does not identify the individual required documents or provide a complete application question list. Applications must be submitted by 5 p.m. on October 13, 2026. Following the deadline, applications will undergo review by city staff. The stated priorities indicate that the review favors projects addressing code compliance and safety, preserving downtown history and character, and applicants who have not previously received this grant. Applicants are scheduled to be notified by October 23, 2026, whether their proposed projects have been awarded funding. All work proposed in an approved application must be completed no later than June 1, 2027. The program is recurring, as downtown business and property owners are expressly permitted to apply each year. Based on the stated September opening for the current annual cycle, the next cycle is expected around September 2027, although an exact 2027 opening date is not provided. For more information or to obtain an application, applicants may contact Logan Engle at 423-547-6200 or lengle@cityofelizabethton.org. The City of Elizabethton contact address provided is 136 S. Sycamore St., Elizabethton, Tennessee 37643.
Award Range
Not specified - $7,500
Total Program Funding
Not specified
Number of Awards
Not specified
Matching Requirement
Yes - 0.5
Additional Details
Reimbursement for up to 50% of total project cost, with a maximum reimbursement of $7,500. Property or business owners pay project costs upfront. All proposed work must be completed by June 1, 2027.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligible applicants are downtown business or property owners. Eligible properties must be located within the Main Street District and have a ground-floor service or retail business that is accessible from the street and open to the public. Applications must be complete, follow all program guidelines, and include required documentation. Projects focused on code compliance, safety, and preservation of history and character are prioritized, as are applications from property or business owners who have not previously received the grant.
Geographic Eligibility
Main Street District
Prioritize proposed work addressing code compliance, safety, and preservation of downtown history and character. Applicants who have not previously received the grant are also prioritized.
Application Opens
September 1, 2026
Application Closes
October 13, 2026
Subscribe to view contact details

