Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
This funding opportunity provides financial support for the installation of electric vehicle charging stations in targeted areas of Kansas, aimed at enhancing the state's electric vehicle infrastructure.
The Kansas Department of Transportation administers the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Formula Program in Kansas through Charge Up Kansas. The federal NEVI Formula Program was established under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, also known as the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, to support development of a connected network of electric vehicle charging infrastructure. Kansas developed the Charge Up Kansas NEVI Plan in coordination with state agencies and other stakeholders, and the plan was approved by the Federal Highway Administration. Kansas has been allocated approximately $39.5 million over five years for the NEVI Formula Program, with funds available until expended. Under Round 3 Group 1, KDOT is seeking proposals for installation of qualifying electric vehicle charging stations at targeted locations along federally designated Alternative Fuel Corridors in Kansas. Round 3 Group 1 targets one charging station in each of five areas, although KDOT reserves the right not to make an award for a location. The targeted areas are Dodge City along US 400, Junction City or Grandview Plaza along I-70, Pittsburg along US 400, Pratt along US 400, and Wyandotte County along I-70. Sites generally must be no more than two miles driving distance from the nearest Alternative Fuel Corridor exit, except that the Pittsburg target area permits sites up to five miles driving distance. Projects must comply with 23 CFR Part 680 and KDOT minimum requirements. Required site features include qualifying DC fast charging infrastructure, CCS Type 1 and J3400 or NACS connectivity as specified, at least one parking stall per charging port, 24 hour charging access, lighting, ADA accessibility, signage, access to restrooms, food, communications service, and shelter under the conditions specified by KDOT. NEVI funding may reimburse up to 80 percent of eligible project costs, with at least a 20 percent non-federal project cash match. KDOT will not provide funding to satisfy the required match. No single project may receive more than $1,200,000 as the federal NEVI share in this funding round. Eligible costs include acquisition and installation of new chargers, upgrades of existing chargers, qualifying EV charging infrastructure, directly related on-site distributed energy resources such as stationary batteries, on-site electrical service equipment, eligible operating assistance for up to five years, qualifying traffic control devices and signage, development phase activities, and required data reporting activities. Ineligible examples include real estate purchase or rental, building and parking facility work not directly related to chargers, major grid updates, costs reimbursed by other grant or funding programs, and studies or research. Eligibility for this RFP is restricted by a mandatory prequalification step. An Eligible Proposer is an entity that completed and returned the KDOT Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Project Interest Form in response to the Request for Interest dated April 15, 2026 and received an invitation to respond to the RFP. The broader Charge Up Kansas program identifies cities, counties, tribes, not-for-profits, private entities, utilities, and groups composed of these entities as eligible entities. Proposers may submit proposals for multiple locations or multiple sites within a location, but an individual proposal is required for each location or site and each selected location will be managed under a separate contract. Site host and utility coordination requirements also apply, including a notarized Site Host Form when applicable and a Utility Service Confirmation Form signed by a utility representative. Proposals must be submitted through the KDOT Qualtrics online submission process by 11:59 pm CDT on Friday, August 28, 2026. The submission has two parts. Part 1 is completed once and must be submitted before Part 2 can be accessed, while Part 2 must be completed separately for each proposed site. Required proposal documentation includes Form B, Non-Collusion Affidavit; Form C, Organizational Conflict of Interest Disclosure Certification; Form D, Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility, and Voluntary Exclusion Certificate; Form E, Equal Employment Opportunity, when applicable; Form F, Use of Contract Funds for Lobbying; the Utility Service Confirmation Form; and the Site Host Form. Form B and the Site Host Form must be notarized. Requests for Clarification must be submitted through KDOT's designated online form by August 15, 2026, and KDOT plans to respond to all such requests by August 21, 2026. KDOT evaluates proposals through a two-step process. First, each proposal is reviewed for compliance with 23 CFR Part 680 and the KDOT minimum requirements. KDOT then reviews costs associated with eligible cost items. The firm, low-bid proposal meeting all requirements and compliance items is selected for award for a location. KDOT intends to issue conditional awards in September 2026. A conditional award is not a final award. Within three months after notice of conditional award, the selected proposer must provide current evidence of authority to transact business in Kansas, current SAM registration, and a site host agreement or proof of ownership. Within six months, the proposer must provide the required performance bond and certificate of insurance. The awardee must execute the contract within 30 business days after notice of final award. Following satisfaction of conditional award requirements and execution of the agreement, KDOT issues a Notice to Proceed. Construction must start within nine months of the Notice to Proceed and be completed within 18 months. Awardees must maintain and operate the EV charging equipment for at least five years following KDOT acceptance and maintain annual uptime of at least 97 percent. Quarterly and annual reporting is required, including reporting through EV-ChART or another method prescribed by KDOT. Reimbursement may be received as a one-time lump sum following completion and required documentation or through qualifying partial payments of at least $1,000 no more frequently than monthly. Questions concerning the program may be directed to the Charge Up Kansas program at ChargeUpKS@ks.gov. No recurring annual or other regular application cycle is stated for this Round 3 RFP.
Award Range
$1,200,000 - $1,200,000
Total Program Funding
$39,500,000
Number of Awards
5
Matching Requirement
Yes - 0.2
Additional Details
Up to 80% reimbursement of eligible approved project costs, not to exceed $1,200,000 in federal NEVI funding per location. At least 20% must come from non-federal local sources. Kansas has approximately $39.5 million in NEVI funding allocated over five years. Eligible costs include qualifying acquisition and installation, operating assistance for up to five years, traffic control devices and signage, development phase activities, and data reporting.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligible entities include cities, counties, tribes, not-for-profits, private entities, utilities, and groups composed of these entities. For Round 3 Group 1, an Eligible Proposer must have submitted a Project Interest Form in response to KDOT's Request for Interest for EV Infrastructure dated April 15, 2026 and received an invitation to respond to the RFP. Proposed sites must also be within an eligible target location and satisfy applicable KDOT and NEVI requirements.
Geographic Eligibility
Greensburg / Mullinville (U.S. 400) Junction City / Grandview Plaza (I-70) Russell (I-70) Wilson / Ellsworth (I-70) Syracuse / Lakin (U.S. 400) Wyandotte County (I-70) Topeka (I-335 / I-70) Wichita (Midtown/West) (I-135 / U.S. 400) Johnson / Wyandotte County (I-35) Oakley (I-70) McPherson / Moundridge (I-135)
Ensure strong partnerships with utilities and site hosts; prioritize locations meeting amenity requirements; ensure full compliance with corridor and federal standards
Application Opens
Not specified
Application Closes
Not specified
Subscribe to view contact details

