GLS Campus Suicide Prevention
This funding opportunity provides financial support to colleges and universities for implementing comprehensive mental health and suicide prevention programs aimed at improving student access to behavioral health services and reducing stigma around mental health issues.
GLS Campus Suicide Prevention is a forecasted federal grant opportunity from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. The opportunity number is SM-27-001, and the funding instrument is a grant. The program is categorized by Grants.gov under Health and is associated with Assistance Listing 93.532, Center for Mental Health Services Projects of Regional and National Significance. The forecast was issued on September 3, 2026, for fiscal year 2027. The opportunity is discretionary and is expected to make five awards from estimated total program funding of $1,000,000. The purpose of the program is to support colleges and universities in implementing a comprehensive, public health, and evidence-based approach to campus behavioral health and suicide prevention. The program is intended to improve access to behavioral health services for college students, including students who are at risk for suicide, depression, serious mental illness, and substance use disorders that can contribute to school failure. It also seeks to prevent and mitigate suicide, mental health conditions, and substance use disorders while promoting help-seeking behaviors and reducing stigma associated with behavioral health needs. The program also focuses on improving the identification and treatment of at-risk college students. These objectives establish a scope centered on campus behavioral health systems, suicide prevention, mental health and substance use disorder prevention and mitigation, student access to services, identification of students at risk, treatment, stigma reduction, and help-seeking behavior. The forecast does not provide specific allowable or prohibited cost categories, indirect cost restrictions, subaward limitations, or a period of performance. A cost sharing or matching requirement is explicitly identified as required, but the forecast does not state the required percentage, ratio, or dollar amount. Applicants will therefore need to verify the specific matching requirement when the full funding announcement is posted. Eligibility is statutorily limited to institutions of higher education. Eligible applicants identified in the forecast include private institutions of higher education and public and state controlled institutions of higher education. The additional eligibility information clarifies that an eligible institution of higher education is an accredited college or university authorized by a state to provide postsecondary education, as defined in section 101 of the Higher Education Act of 1965. Although Grants.gov also displays an Others applicant category, the accompanying clarification limits eligibility to institutions meeting this statutory institution of higher education definition. Because this opportunity is currently a forecast rather than a posted application announcement, complete submission mechanics and application requirements are not yet provided. The source does not identify an application portal procedure beyond the Grants.gov opportunity listing, required narratives, forms, attachments, letters of intent, concept papers, notices of intent, evaluation criteria, scoring criteria, or other pre-application gating requirements. Applicants should therefore rely on the future posted funding announcement for the final application instructions and required components. No application due date is provided in the current forecast. The opportunity was forecast on September 3, 2026, and was last updated on September 3, 2026. The estimated posting date is December 15, 2026, and the estimated award date is September 30, 2027. No estimated application due date or project start date is stated. The source does not indicate that the opportunity is rolling or that it recurs annually or on another regular schedule. The named grantor contact is Portland Ridley, who may be reached at portland.ridley@samhsa.hhs.gov or 240-276-1848. Award ceilings, award floors, detailed matching terms, application deadlines, submission requirements, evaluation criteria, and the performance period remain to be established or verified from the full funding announcement when posted.
Award Range
Not specified - Not specified
Total Program Funding
$1,000,000
Number of Awards
5
Matching Requirement
Yes - Match Required.
Additional Details
Estimated total program funding is $1,000,000 for 5 expected awards; individual award ceiling and floor are not stated in the forecast.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligibility is statutorily limited to Institutions of Higher Education. An eligible IHE is an accredited college or university authorized by a state to provide postsecondary education, as defined in section 101 of the Higher Education Act of 1965. Eligible applicant types expressly identified are private institutions of higher education and public and State controlled institutions of higher education.
Geographic Eligibility
All
Align the proposed approach with the stated comprehensive, public health, and evidence-based focus. Address improved behavioral health access; prevention and mitigation of suicide, mental health conditions, and substance use disorders; student help-seeking and stigma reduction; and identification and treatment of at-risk college students.
Application Opens
December 15, 2026
Application Closes
Not specified
Subscribe to view contact details

