Foundation for Graphic Communication Education Grant Program
This grant provides financial support to educators and students in graphic communications programs for equipment purchases, student travel to industry events, and instructor continuing education to enhance learning and career opportunities in the field.
The Foundation for Graphic Communication Education Grant Program supports educators and students involved in graphic communications education. The Foundation states that its main objective is to support educators and students in graphic communications and that, for the seventh consecutive year, it will award educational-use grants supporting continuing education in graphic communications in 2027. The program has previously supported a substantial range of educational activities. For the 2024-2025 school year, 29 educational institutions and educators received more than $100,000 in awards. Prior awards supported equipment purchases and student travel to print-related competitions and events, with the broader goal of strengthening graphic communications education and exposing students to career opportunities in the industry. The program encourages applications from instructors at institutions directly engaged in Graphic Communication, Visual and Design Technology, and print-centric educational programs. The source specifically identifies high schools, trade schools, junior and community college associate programs, four-year colleges and universities, and Masters and Doctorate Degree programs. Funds may support purposes that further students' education and exposure to print, packaging, and related industries. Multiple applications from the same institution are accepted. The program identifies three principal request areas: equipment, student travel expenses, and instructor continuing education. Equipment grants may be awarded for up to $7,500. Purchased equipment must complement an existing graphic communications program or expand the current curriculum. Examples identified by the Foundation include small presses, bindery equipment, embroidery equipment, software for existing computers, and parts for existing equipment. Equipment applications must include a minimum of two vendor quotes. Student travel funding is based on a maximum of $600 per student for up to five students per school event. Qualifying students must attend an industry conference or expo relevant to creating a positive experience toward a career in graphic communications. Examples provided include Skills USA, Printing United Expo, TAGA, Roll-to-Roll Converters, and Adobe MAX. Instructor continuing education grants may be awarded for up to $2,500 per instructor. The Foundation may pay an instructor's educational expenses for a class or seminar, but the instructor must document in the application how the course will have a significant impact on the graphic communications program and the curriculum offered to students. The Foundation notes that restrictions and other considerations apply. A committee reviews applications and makes awards on merit and as available funds allow, consistent with The FGCE bylaws. No matching or cost-share requirement is stated in the supplied program information. For the spring 2026 application period, submissions closed April 17, 2026, applications were scheduled for review in May 2026, and winners were scheduled to be announced in May 2026. The Foundation explicitly states that fall grant applications will open August 24, 2026 and remain open through October 30, 2026. All submitted applications are reviewed and scored together after each submission period ends. No letter of intent, concept paper, pre-proposal, or other pre-application gating requirement is identified in the supplied information. The source also does not provide an application portal URL or a complete list of general application questions. Applicants seeking additional information may contact The Foundation for Graphic Communication Education at info@TheFGCE.com or 866.556.7473. The mailing address supplied is PO Box 12537, Pittsburgh, PA 15241. The source indicates an ongoing grant program with multiple submission periods and explicitly describes support continuing into 2027. The next stated submission window is August 24 through October 30, 2026. No grant performance period is specified in the supplied information.
Award Range
Not specified - $7,500
Total Program Funding
Not specified
Number of Awards
Not specified
Matching Requirement
No
Additional Details
Equipment grants up to $7,500; student travel up to $600 per student for up to 5 students per school event, equivalent to up to $3,000 for the stated event limit; instructor continuing education grants up to $2,500 per instructor. Awards are made on merit and as funds allow.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Instructors from institutions directly engaged in Graphic Communication, Visual and Design Technology, and print-centric educational programs are encouraged to apply. Eligible educational settings identified by the funder include high schools, trade schools, junior and community college associate programs, four-year colleges and universities, and Masters and Doctorate Degree programs. Multiple applications from the same institution are accepted. Funds may further students' education and exposure to print, packaging, and related industries through equipment, qualifying student travel, and instructor continuing education.
Geographic Eligibility
All
Demonstrate clear merit and educational impact because applications are reviewed and scored together and awards are made on merit and as funds allow. For equipment, connect the purchase directly to the existing program or curriculum and include at least two vendor quotes. For student travel, establish the event's relevance to graphic communications careers. For instructor education, explain the significant expected impact on the program and student curriculum.
Application Opens
August 24, 2026
Application Closes
October 30, 2026
Subscribe to view contact details

