Providers Clinical Support System - Universities
This grant provides funding to universities and health organizations to train graduate-level health professional students in effectively addressing substance use and related disorders.
Providers Clinical Support System - Universities is a forecasted federal discretionary grant opportunity from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. The opportunity number is TI-27-001, and the listed Assistance Listing is 93.490, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment Projects of Regional and National Significance. The category of funding activity is Health, and the funding instrument is a grant. The forecast was published on September 3, 2026, and was last updated on September 3, 2026. Because the opportunity remains in forecast status, several application and award details have not yet been published. The purpose of the program is to fully prepare graduate-level health professional students to understand, identify, intervene, and treat patients with substance use, substance misuse, and substance use disorder after becoming licensed practitioners. The source does not provide additional program objectives, specific required activities, allowable or prohibited expenditures, indirect cost limitations, subaward limitations, or other spending restrictions. Applicants should therefore rely on the future funding announcement for detailed program requirements and permissible uses of grant funds. The estimated total program funding is $5,000,000, with an expected 17 awards. The forecast does not state an award floor or award ceiling, so no minimum or maximum individual award amount can be established from the available information. Cost sharing or matching is explicitly identified as not required. The source also does not specify a period of performance, project duration, expected project start date, or other terms governing the length or structure of individual awards. Eligible applicants include county governments, state governments, public and state controlled institutions of higher education, private institutions of higher education, special district governments, nonprofit organizations having 501(c)(3) status with the IRS other than institutions of higher education, city or township governments, federally recognized Native American tribal governments, and certain other eligible entities described in the additional eligibility information. The additional eligibility provision specifically identifies health facilities or programs operated by or in accordance with a contract or award with the Indian Health Service. The forecast does not state a specific state, county, city, territory, or other geographic service-area restriction. The opportunity is currently forecasted rather than open for application submission. The estimated posting date is December 15, 2026. No estimated application due date is provided, and the source does not identify a letter of intent, concept paper, pre-proposal, notice of intent, initial application, or other pre-application gating requirement. It also does not provide application forms, narrative questions, required attachments, submission portal instructions beyond its appearance on Grants.gov, evaluation criteria, review priorities, or scoring criteria. These details are expected to require review when the complete opportunity is posted. The estimated award date is September 30, 2027. No estimated project start date or archive date is stated. The fiscal year is 2027. The source does not indicate that the opportunity is annual, biennial, quarterly, continuously available, or otherwise recurring, so no recurrence or future-cycle deadline can be established. Questions concerning the forecast may be directed to Belinda Greenfield at belinda.greenfield@samhsa.hhs.gov or 240-276-2545. Applicants should monitor the official opportunity for the complete solicitation and application requirements when the forecasted opportunity is posted.
Award Range
Not specified - Not specified
Total Program Funding
$5,000,000
Number of Awards
17
Matching Requirement
No
Additional Details
Estimated total program funding is $5,000,000. The forecast expects 17 awards. Individual award ceiling, award floor, period of performance, and project duration are not stated.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligible applicants include county governments, state governments, public and state controlled institutions of higher education, private institutions of higher education, special district governments, nonprofits having 501(c)(3) status with the IRS other than institutions of higher education, city or township governments, and federally recognized Native American tribal governments. Additional eligibility includes health facilities or programs operated by or in accordance with a contract or award with the Indian Health Service.
Geographic Eligibility
All
Align the proposed program clearly with the stated purpose of preparing graduate-level health professional students to understand, identify, intervene, and treat patients with substance use, misuse, and substance use disorder upon becoming licensed practitioners.
Application Opens
December 15, 2026
Application Closes
Not specified
Subscribe to view contact details

