GrantExec, a Euna Solutions® company

State Funding Supporting Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Training and Automated External Defibrillator (AED) Maintenance and Purchase Grant Program

This grant provides funding to Kansas schools, community organizations, and tribal entities for CPR training and the purchase and maintenance of automated external defibrillators (AEDs) to improve cardiac emergency response efforts.

$750,000
Forecasted
KS
Grant Description

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment administers the State Funding Supporting Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Training and Automated External Defibrillator (AED) Maintenance and Purchase Grant Program under authority provided by Kansas House Bill No. 2513. The program is intended to give eligible Kansas schools, community organizations, religious organizations, charitable organizations or associations, libraries, and tribal entities access to funding for lifesaving training and equipment used in response to cardiac emergencies. Program objectives include increasing the number of Cardiac Emergency Response Plan programs submitted across Kansas, expanding access to CPR training and AED equipment, improving maintenance of existing AED equipment, and increasing access to lifesaving training and equipment in rural communities. Three funding opportunities are identified. The first provides $125,000 for CPR and AED training for public and nonpublic school districts with a submitted Cardiac Emergency Response Plan. The second provides $500,000 for AED maintenance and/or purchase for public and nonpublic school districts with a submitted Cardiac Emergency Response Plan. The third provides $125,000 for AED maintenance and/or purchase for religious organizations, charitable organizations or associations, libraries, and tribal entities. Across the three opportunities, the stated available funding totals $750,000. The RFA does not establish a minimum or maximum individual award amount or a specified number of awards. Allowable grant costs include AED maintenance and AED purchases. First-aid, CPR, and AED training costs are allowable only for public and nonpublic school districts. The budget may include supplies, including purchased equipment; travel and hotel costs for a trainer presenting to a school district; contracts with outside organizations for training; and other allowable expenses associated with the request. Grant funds may not pay staff salaries, staff recruitment, food or beverages, publicity or propaganda including lobbying or advocacy, or materials and recipient or agent expenses intended to influence legislation, regulations, administrative actions, or executive orders beyond normal recognized executive relationships. No matching or cost-share requirement is stated. Grant expenses must occur after the fully executed contract date for each award. Eligible applicants include public school districts and nonpublic school districts with a submitted CERP for the school-focused opportunities. The broader AED maintenance and purchase opportunity is available to religious organizations, charitable organizations or associations, libraries, and tribal entities. The RFA also states that eligible entities must have a registered and approved cardiac emergency response plan with KDHE. The required supplemental documentation specifically includes an eligible CERP reviewed within the last year. Funding is competitive, applications are reviewed for eligibility, and awards will continue until available funds are fully expended. Applicants must complete the grant application, including a project timeline. The final application must be submitted through the designated Survey Form. Supplemental documentation must be emailed to KDHE.CERP@ks.gov and must include a completed and signed W-9 Form, an eligible Cardiac Emergency Response Plan reviewed within the last year, and a budget justification. Applicants must include all required documentation in the email submission. Incomplete or improperly formatted applications will not be reviewed. Questions may be directed to the CPR and AED Grant Program at the Kansas Department of Health and Environment through KDHE.CERP@ks.gov. Application review begins October 1, 2026 and continues until available funding is fully expended. The final submission deadline is 12:00 PM on Friday, April 30, 2027, and late submissions will not be considered. Expenses must be incurred by June 30, 2027 and invoiced to KDHE no later than July 31, 2027. A final project report is required within 30 days after project conclusion and must include, at minimum, the number of individuals trained when applicable and invoices and receipts for purchased items and/or contracts. The RFA does not state an award notification date or indicate that this grant cycle recurs annually or on another established schedule.

Funding Details

Award Range

Not specified - Not specified

Total Program Funding

$750,000

Number of Awards

Not specified

Matching Requirement

No

Additional Details

Three funding opportunities: $125,000 for CPR and AED training for public and nonpublic school districts; $500,000 for AED maintenance and/or purchase for public and nonpublic school districts; $125,000 for AED maintenance and/or purchase for religious or charitable associations, libraries, or tribal entities. Individual award limits are not stated. Expenses must occur after the fully executed contract date, be incurred by June 30, 2027, and be invoiced by July 31, 2027.

Eligibility

Eligible Applicants

Independent school districts
Nonprofits
Native American tribal organizations

Additional Requirements

Eligible applicants include public and nonpublic school districts, religious organizations, charitable organizations or associations, libraries, and tribal entities, subject to the applicable funding opportunity. Eligible entities must meet the CERP requirements stated by KDHE; required supplemental documentation includes an eligible CERP reviewed within the last year. First-aid, CPR, and AED training is allowable only for public and nonpublic school districts.

Geographic Eligibility

All

Expert Tips

Ensure the CERP is eligible and reviewed within the last year; include every required supplemental document because incomplete or improperly formatted applications will not be reviewed; align the request with CPR training, AED access or maintenance as applicable; use only allowable budget categories; address the program's emphasis on expanding lifesaving training and equipment access in rural communities where relevant.

Key Dates

Application Opens

October 1, 2026

Application Closes

April 30, 2027

Contact Information

Grantor

Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE)

Subscribe to view contact details

Newsletter Required
Categories
Health
Safety
Education

Subscribe to access grant documents