Perkins V Postsecondary Entitlement Program
This funding opportunity provides financial support to Florida public school districts and colleges to enhance career and technical education programs for postsecondary students, helping them develop essential academic and vocational skills.
The Florida Department of Education, Division of Career and Adult Education, administers the Perkins V Postsecondary entitlement opportunity under the Strengthening Career and Technical Education for the 21st Century Act, Title I, Section 132, with federal funding identified under CFDA 84.048. Beginning with the 2026-2027 year, Florida's Perkins V State Plan was incorporated into the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act Combined Plan. The purpose of the postsecondary program is to develop more fully the academic, career, and technical skills of postsecondary education students who elect to enroll in career and technical education programs. The target population is postsecondary career and technical education students. The RFA identifies total program funding of $31,086,300, divided between eligible Florida public school districts and Florida College System institutions according to the allocation chart. Allocations are subject to change based on Florida's final federal award notification, and FDOE will not obligate program-year funds until federal funds are appropriated and the state receives its federal award notification from the U.S. Department of Education. The Commissioner may recommend an amount greater or less than the amount requested. The award type is entitlement, and the budget and program performance period is July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027. No matching requirement is imposed. Program funds must be used solely for activities that directly support the program purpose, priorities, and expected outcomes during the program period and must be consistent with the approved application and applicable federal and state requirements. Allowable expenses may include appropriate project administration staff, office materials and supplies, consultant fees, printing, meeting room rentals, and other relevant project costs. Certain electronic devices may be allowable with prior FDOE approval and adequate justification. Generally prohibited expenses include pre-award costs, entertainment, meals and refreshments, celebrations, gift cards, incentives, advertising, promotional items, vehicles, facilities, land, furniture, tuition, capital improvements, clothing or uniforms, and costs already covered by an indirect cost allocation. Equipment purchases must comply with Uniform Grant Guidance and applicable state expenditure requirements. Indirect cost rules vary by entity type; state colleges and other qualifying state entities may generally charge up to 8 percent or their approved cognizant agency rate, whichever is lower, subject to the exclusions and alternatives stated in the RFA. Eligible applicants are Florida public school districts and Florida colleges. Each eligible recipient must comply with Perkins V, Florida's Perkins V State Plan, the FDOE Perkins V Implementation Guide, and the requirements of the local continuation application. Supported CTE programs must meet Florida's size, scope, and quality requirements, satisfy labor market alignment requirements, and address a need identified through the recipient's 2025-2026 Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment. Postsecondary recipients must offer at least one compliant CTE program of study. The RFA also establishes consortium provisions. Districts participating in a postsecondary consortium must have an approved postsecondary Perkins V plan, and consortium funds must support purposes and programs that are mutually beneficial to participating members rather than being reallocated for the sole benefit of an individual member. Applications are submitted electronically to the FDOE Office of Grants Management through the designated ShareFile folder. Applicants must submit four separate files using the prescribed naming conventions: a PDF containing required attachment materials including the Program of Study Template and Postsecondary CTE Assurances Form; a Word file containing the application narrative sections and Application Review Criteria and Checklist; an Excel file containing the Postsecondary CLNA Workbook; and an Excel file containing Postsecondary Perkins FDOE Grant Forms, including the DOE 100A Project Application and Budget Narrative. Required forms must be signed by an authorized entity. Applicants must address the required narrative sections covering the comprehensive local needs assessment and stakeholder engagement, programs of study, career exploration and guidance, academic improvement and integration, equity and access, work-based learning, postsecondary credit opportunities, support for CTE personnel, special-population performance, accountability and program improvement, strategic imperatives, and GEPA equitable-access requirements. Budget narrative items must align with identified CLNA needs, Perkins V uses-of-funds requirements, and applicable program or CIP numbers. The formal application due date was June 30, 2026. FDOE states that applications are accepted after that date; however, the DOE 100A had to be received by June 30 to secure a July 1, 2026 grant start date. Program Improvement Plans are required for applicable recipients that did not achieve at least 90 percent of agreed-upon performance levels, and required PIPs must be completed before a final Grant Award Letter may be issued. Recipients are subject to data reporting, fiscal documentation, performance monitoring, and final reporting requirements, including submission of the DOE 399 Final Project Disbursement Report and Projected Equipment Purchases Form by August 20, 2027. Grants Management contacts listed in the RFA include Phyllis White at Phyllis.White@fldoe.org and 850-245-0715 and Ashley Williamson at Ashley.Williamson@fldoe.org and 850-245-9479. Program contacts are assigned by district or college. The program is funded through annual federal appropriations and the RFA describes the 2026-2027 application as a continuation-year application within Florida's Perkins V planning cycle.
Award Range
$50,000 - $5,039,869
Total Program Funding
$31,086,300
Number of Awards
64
Matching Requirement
No
Additional Details
Entitlement allocations are listed by agency and are subject to change based on the final federal allocation and local performance data; the largest listed allocation is $5,039,869; Section 132(c) states that no institution or consortium shall receive less than $50,000; the performance period is July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027; indirect and administrative cost limits apply as stated in the RFA.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligible applicants are Florida public school districts and Florida colleges. Supported postsecondary CTE programs must comply with Perkins V and Florida requirements, including applicable size, scope, and quality standards, labor market alignment, and an identified need from the 2025-2026 Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment. Postsecondary recipients must offer at least one compliant program of study. Districts participating in a postsecondary consortium must have an approved postsecondary Perkins V plan, and consortium funds must support purposes and programs mutually beneficial to participating members.
Geographic Eligibility
All
Submit the DOE 100A by the formal deadline to secure the July 1 grant start date; align every budget line item with an identified CLNA need, applicable Perkins V uses-of-funds requirement, and program number or CIP number; support only CTE programs meeting size, scope, quality, labor-market alignment, and CLNA-need requirements; complete any required Program Improvement Plan before final award; submit four separate files using the required naming conventions; ensure required forms are signed by an authorized entity; include only requested application materials
Application Opens
Not specified
Application Closes
Not specified
Subscribe to view contact details
Subscribe to access grant documents

