Perkins V Secondary Entitlement Program
This funding program provides financial support to Florida public school districts and charter school districts to enhance career and technical education for secondary students in grades 5-12, helping them develop essential academic and vocational skills.
The Florida Department of Education, Division of Career and Adult Education, administers the Perkins V Secondary entitlement program under the Strengthening Career and Technical Education for the 21st Century Act, Title I, with funding authority that includes Section 131 and CFDA 84.048. Beginning with the 2026-2027 year, Florida's Perkins V State Plan was incorporated into the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act Combined Plan. The purpose of this funding is to develop more fully the academic, career, and technical skills of secondary education students who elect to enroll in career and technical education programs. The target population is secondary career and technical education students in grades 5-12. The RFA identifies $34,413,700 in total anticipated program funding and classifies the award as an entitlement. Individual allocations are established in the RFA's Allocation Chart and range from $6,204 to $4,398,917 among the listed eligible agencies. The allocations are subject to change based on Florida's final federal award notification, and FDOE will not obligate Program Year 2026 grant funds until federal funds are appropriated and FDOE receives its federal award notification from the U.S. Department of Education. The Commissioner may recommend an amount greater or less than the amount requested. The budget and program performance period is July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027. No matching requirement applies. Program funds must be used solely for activities directly supporting the program purpose, priorities, and expected outcomes during the approved program period. Expenditures must be consistent with the approved application and applicable federal and state laws, regulations, and guidance. Allowable expenses may include appropriate project staff, office materials and supplies, administration-related costs, meeting room rentals, consultant fees, printing, and other relevant costs. Certain electronic devices may be allowable with prior FDOE approval and adequate justification. Generally prohibited costs include pre-award costs, entertainment, meals and refreshments, celebrations, game systems, unapproved out-of-state travel, overnight field trips, incentives, gift cards, decorations, advertising, promotional items, facilities or vehicles, land, furniture, kitchen appliances, tuition, capital improvements, clothing or uniforms, and costs already covered through indirect cost allocation. Equipment must comply with Uniform Guidance requirements, and equipment not included in the approved original budget requires an approved amendment before purchase. Eligible applicants are Florida Public School Districts and Charter School Districts. The 2026-2027 award is a continuation of the local Perkins V plan, and recipients must comply with Perkins V, Florida's State Plan, the FDOE Perkins V Implementation Guide, and the local application requirements under Section 134. Supported CTE programs must meet or be progressing appropriately toward applicable size, scope, and quality requirements, meet labor market alignment requirements, and address a need identified through the 2025-2026 Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment. For 2026-2027, eligible secondary recipients must also offer enough fully compliant programs of study for at least 75 percent of the agency's CTE students to be enrolled in such programs. Program Improvement Plans are required when applicable for performance measures that did not achieve at least 90 percent of the locally agreed-upon performance level. Applications are submitted electronically to the FDOE Office of Grants Management through the designated ShareFile folder. The package is divided into four files: a PDF containing required attachments such as the Program of Study Template and Secondary CTE Assurances Form; a Word file containing the application narrative sections and Application Review Criteria and Checklist; an Excel Secondary CLNA Workbook; and an Excel Secondary Perkins FDOE Grant Forms file containing the DOE 100A Project Application and Budget Narrative. Required forms must be signed by an authorized entity, with electronic, scanned, PDF hardcopy, or qualifying typed signatures accepted under the RFA's stated conditions. The narrative covers the Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment and stakeholder engagement, programs of study, career exploration and guidance, academic integration, equity and access, work-based learning, postsecondary credit, support for CTE personnel, performance disparities, accountability, strategic imperatives, GEPA, and budget alignment. Budget line items must connect to CLNA needs, applicable requirements for uses of funds, and relevant program or CIP numbers. The stated application due date was June 30, 2026. FDOE explains that the DOE 100A had to be received by June 30 to obtain a July 1, 2026 grant start date, although applications may be accepted after that date. Because this is an annual continuation funding process and the cited 2026 deadline has passed, the next cycle is anticipated around June 2027, subject to a future FDOE solicitation. Program contacts are assigned by district. Grants management contacts include Phyllis White at Phyllis.White@fldoe.org or 850-245-0715 and Ashley Williamson at Ashley.Williamson@fldoe.org or 850-245-9479. Project recipients must maintain supporting financial documentation and submit required final fiscal reporting; the Secondary CTE Assurances specify a DOE 399 Final Project Disbursement Report and Projected Equipment Purchases Form due by August 20, 2027.
Award Range
$6,204 - $4,398,917
Total Program Funding
$34,413,700
Number of Awards
76
Matching Requirement
No
Additional Details
Entitlement allocations are listed by eligible agency and are subject to change based on Florida's final federal award notification and local performance data. The Commissioner may recommend an amount greater or less than requested. Budget/program performance period is July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027. School district indirect costs may be charged from zero up to the maximum negotiated rate approved by FDOE; without an approved rate, indirect costs cannot be recovered.
Eligible Applicants
Additional Requirements
Eligible applicants are Florida Public School Districts and Charter School Districts. The award is a continuation of the eligible recipient's Perkins V local plan. Programs supported with Perkins V funds must meet applicable size, scope, and quality requirements, satisfy labor market alignment requirements, and address a need identified in the agency's 2025-2026 Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment. Secondary recipients must also offer sufficient fully compliant programs of study so that at least 75 percent of CTE enrollment is in such programs during the 2026-2027 program year. Applicants must comply with the Perkins V Act, Florida's Perkins V State Plan, the FDOE Perkins V Implementation Guide, applicable assurances, fiscal requirements, and data and performance accountability requirements.
Geographic Eligibility
All
Align every budget line item with an identified CLNA need, applicable Section 135 use-of-funds requirement, and relevant program number or CIP number. Include only CTE programs that meet Perkins funding requirements, labor-market alignment, and size, scope, and quality requirements. Use the current Perkins V Program of Study template rather than a Perkins IV template. Ensure all required forms are signed by an authorized entity and follow the four-file ShareFile format and naming conventions. Complete any required Program Improvement Plan before final award issuance.
Application Opens
Not specified
Application Closes
Not specified
Subscribe to view contact details
Subscribe to access grant documents

